Lake Needwood

Course results can be seen below as well as on Attackpoint and WinSplits. To enter your routes and see how others went, head to RouteGadget.

Save the Date! Our next event is Sunday, April 3 at Manassas National Battlefield Park.

We had a great day at Lake Needwood. The weather forecasters had been predicting a chilling rain, but it stayed dry throughout the meet – then finally let loose as the control pickup crew headed out. This is one of the club’s newest maps, and it’s a good one: accurate, up-to-date, and consistent in its level of detail. That said, it provides a big challenge to the Course Setter. The park is very long and narrow, and is divided by a major uncrossable stream. There are plenty of bridges, but nevertheless, those constraints make it much harder to devise legs with interesting route choices. Course Setter Mihai Sirbu did an outstanding job. The very small number of DNF’s shows that his courses were at an appropriate level, and the even smaller number of MP’s shows that his control placements were spot on. (Those new to the sport: Do you realize that the Course Setter hangs out all those controls him/herself? It’s an all day job, done the day before the meet. Luckily, collecting them at the end of the meet goes much faster, thanks to the help of many volunteers, who each go out and collect 5-6 control flags.)

Speaking of volunteers, many thanks to all the people who helped make the event run so smoothly, not only those who had signed on in advance to help out, but also to those who jumped in on the spur of the moment when the need arose.

First and foremost, of course, the amazing timing/results team: Valerie Meyer, Amy Louden, Mary Snieckus, and Tori Campbell.
The calm and competent registration crew: Eva Matveeva, Helena Mora-Jensen, Ben Roberts, and Lee Todd.
The inspiring Beginner Instructors: Craig Shelden and Stephanie Coffin.
The people who stepped in and provided beginner’s and even intermediate instruction when we had a sudden flood of demand at the last minute: Christiana Logansmith, Jane Leggett, and Sara Lemanski.
The Course Setter himself, who gave a special clinic on route choice for intermediate and advanced O’ers: Mihai Sirbu. The rain-soaked control pickup crew: Michael Dickey, Greg Palardy, Eugene Tsypnyatov, Anne Jepsen, Kim Jepsen, and Charles Carrick.

- Diana Todd, Meet Director


Course Length: 2.1 km

Course Climb: 60 m

Number of Controls: 7

1Samantha WalkerQOC21:23
2Nicole Alexsieva31:41
3Marquita Holmes Grp 7 & GregoryQOC37:29
4Eli MayerQOC42:08
5Darby JohnsonQOC42:27
6Emmett Gelfand & Harold42:53
7Nathan MayerQOC43:48
8Ziggy Tomares & Rachel & David Katz43:52
9Peter Campbell & DadQOC44:40
10Seth Barush & DavidQOC46:20
11Edvin Simonsson47:02
12Hanna Simonsson48:02


Course Length: 2.7 km

Course Climb: 70 m

Number of Controls: 9

1Dominik HonzakQOC27:26
2Tolik Kuznetsov & YuliyaQOC34:26
3Alexey Egorou & Damara & Katia37:16
4John Briley & Ollie42:51
5Reiko Rager & David & JustinQOC47:14
6Ted MorganSVO48:04
7Kira BertheussenQOC48:50
8Ksusha UlyanovaQOC51:54
9Mary Laura Fitzgerald52:30
10William SchaeferQOC55:05
11Radka HerndonQOC56:39
12Glen GibsonQOC72:53
13Joshua Irizarry-Diaz & Hilda & Wigberto149:03
14May Joy GrenierQOCDNF (86:27)
14Nina YegorovaMP (38:16)
14Svetlana DidenkoMP (49:39)


Course Length: 3.6 km

Course Climb: 125 m

Number of Controls: 9

1Josh BascomQOC44:05
2Alexis MerkaQOC46:54
3Petr TsypnyatovQOC51:39
4Eugene VasilchenkoQOC53:07
5Valerie MeyerQOC53:21
6Einar OlsenQOC60:00
7Michael LiederQOC60:44
8Kim CouranzQOC61:08
9Jack LogansmithQOC64:00
10Warren Preston67:03
11Jim Weber & Ethan & JasonQOC69:22
12David & Eric McIntire & Evan73:17
13Matthew LaskowskiQOC73:57
14Michael Laskowski74:18
15Jane LeggettQOC78:19
16Dustin Brown & Heidi & Noah & Emery & Okeyo79:56
17Kasey Mitchell & Martin Gilbert80:27
18Matthew WeeksQOC90:11
19Jared Markowitz & Frances Koons92:17
20Mark Murphy97:30
21Florence TanQOC128:23
22Anna CampbellQOCDNF
22Michael Haley Goldman & Henry & GenevieveDNF
22Kayla Wright & Daphne WrightDNF (58:55)
22Samantha WalkerQOCDNF (65:30)
22Lee ToddQOCDNF (84:59)
22Team Team QOCDNF (87:14)
22Johnathan SimmonsDNF (107:28)


Course Length: 2.6 km

Course Climb: 80 m

Number of Controls: 5

1Adam BeeQOC29:34
2Craig SheldenQOC54:52
3Chun BleauGAOC58:43
4Eva MatveevaQOC63:15
5David Gedney & Elise & HooperQOC83:17
6Tabitha Stacy FamilyQOC83:45
7Sara RobichQOCDNF (42:08)
7David FrankQOCDNF (173:41)


Course Length: 3.3 km

Course Climb: 90 m

Number of Controls: 8

1Greg LennonQOC37:48
2Kathleen LennonQOC41:06
3Boris GranovskiyQOC42:07
4Keg GoodQOC46:31
5Ed Buck & Kevin SchehlQOC48:20
6Mary SnieckusQOC50:03
7Daniel LathropQOC52:21
8Miguel Perez54:28
9Diana AleksievaQOC55:01
10Richard Fulton & Catherine & GarrettQOC55:20
11Kelly SingerQOC56:58
12Jennifer WernerQOC57:29
13Martin HoughtonQOC60:17
14Petya AleksievaQOC60:54
15Edward EnsonQOC61:06
16Wendy WQOC66:01
17Richard BriggsQOC69:56
18Lisa NovinsQOC74:30
19Jeff HaskellQOC76:37
20Iouri Inna Merejouk77:02
21Sara LemanskiQOC78:50
22Shannon CostelloQOC79:10
23Alexander Moiseeva & Anna & NataliaQOC84:40
24Rob BriberQOC84:57
25Robert Harrelson & Kate NewmanQOC95:13
26Bryan Brittain & Ted & LauraQOC96:14
27Suzanne IzzoQOC129:02
28Amy LoudenQOC131:06
29Chris LaskowskiQOCDNF


Course Length: 5.5 km

Course Climb: 175 m

Number of Controls: 13

1Amber TomasQOC45:58
2Nicholas GrenierQOC49:16
3Rick OliverQOC57:51
4Peggy DickisonOK61:49
5Dennis DohertyQOC66:37
6Rob WhitestoneQOC67:55
7Gavin WeiseQOC69:34
8Allison BrownQOC69:56
9Tom StratQOC71:08
10Roman EnsonQOC71:28
11Tom WellsQOC72:18
11Cash CostelloQOC72:18
12Christiana LogansmithQOC72:32
13Dagmar MerkovaQOC73:04
14Frantisek BrabecQOC78:22
15Gogi KalkaQOC81:02
16Ryan CollinsQOC83:46
17Thaddeus LawQOC84:11
18Anne JepsenQOC86:20
19Page Kyle87:42
20John VincentPatuxent NJROTC96:27
21KC Dowdell FamilyQOC113:49
22Sidney SachsQOC120:21
23Gail Edwards123:33
24Rae Ann HicksQOC162:51
25Lisa ZantiQOCDNF


Course Length: 6.5 km

Course Climb: 175 m

Number of Controls: 12

1Hannah CulbergQOC54:07
2Ted GoodQOC55:42
3Glen GibsonQOC57:34
4Adam SmithQOC64:40
5Tom NolanQOC65:11
6Charlie BleauGAOC66:37
7Thomas CochraneQOC67:56
8Ben RobertsQOC70:52
9Victor LinQOC72:15
10Mykyta Chubynsky76:41
11Kira & Jon BertheussenQOC76:52
12John BakerQOC78:21
13Greg PalardyQOC81:49
14Jan MerkaQOC86:50
15Evgueni BelyiQOC92:29
16John RosickyQOC94:50
17Mark HicksQOC97:24
18Gary SmithQOC102:19
19Erin BrandtQOC113:02
20Paul NelsonQOC117:52
21Stephanie CoffinQOC136:16
22Isaac Eaton & Alex Brossel & Shon Kaganovich151:32
23Daniel QuinnQOCMP (61:42)


Course Length: 8.4 km

Course Climb: 275 m

Number of Controls: 17

1Kevin CulbergQOC66:48
2Jon TorranceQOC68:48
3Norbert LinkeQOC70:45
4Jon CampbellQOC73:21
5Videlin AleksievQOC76:42
6Nadim AhmedQOC82:21
7Eugene TsypnyatovQOC85:16
8Kim JepsenQOC85:38
9Victoria CampbellQOC87:53
10Alexander Novikov100:21
11Charles CarrickQOC101:59
12Michael DickeyQOC105:09
13William ChesarekQOC111:02
14Alex Madden115:18
15Andrey Starikovskiy117:46
16Dustine ReppuhnQOC127:24
17Mark BeckerQOC130:44
18Ben BloschockQOC131:23

Abbreviations: DNF = did not finish, MP = mispunch, NC = non-competitive (usually 2nd course or course setter/vetter), OT = overtime (more than 3 hours or returned after course closing time).