Course results can be seen below as well as on Attackpoint. To enter your routes and see how others went, head to RouteGadget.

Next QOC Event: Patapsco, Sunday Dec. 13!

As Sue Palka and the other local weather forecasters predicted, the weather on Saturday was nothing short of brilliant. This laid the groundwork for a wonderful day of Orienteering at Occoquan Regional Park. For most of the day, there wasn’t so much as a contrail in the sky, making for perfect conditions for navigating through the woods.
Sid Sachs put on his course setter’s hat and laid eight great courses throughout the hills and dales of the north bank of the Occoquan River that proved to be fun, challenging, and, to some, frustrating. The meet marked the first ever Army-Navy Orienteering Meet – won by Army. (West Point has been the national collegiate orienteering champion for each of the past THIRTEEN years and TWENTY-TWO out of the past twenty-eight years!) Special mention here goes to Cadet Dan O’Conor, a member of the West Point Orienteering Team, who, while attending Navy for the past semester on an inter-academy program, helped get a Naval Academy Orienteering Team off the ground.
Meet director Mark Becker pulled together a small but GREAT group of volunteers to host a super event at the friendly confines of Occoquan. Kudos to Ben Bloschock, John Baker, Britt Mason, Rae Ann Hicks, Mark Hicks, Tom Cochrane, and Heather Maher for taking time to ensure competitors were registered, fees were collected, new orienteers were trained, and controls were picked up. If you had a great time and enjoyed yourself consider two things: (1) thanking those who did such a great job, and, more importantly (2) volunteering for a future event. (As to the latter point, Sid has pulled together a “soon to be naughty list” of those who have attended five or more meets run without ever volunteering . . . . . and THAT’S one list nobody wants to land on.) I hope that all come out for the final QOC event of 2015 at Patapsco this Sunday the thirteenth.


Course Length: 2.5 km

Course Climb: 30 m

Number of Controls: 14

1Geon Woo HanFUMA26:23
2Dameon HiteFUMA28:21
3 Tubbys30:20
4Tom BruceQOC45:41
5Jennifer TownsendQOC48:05
6Nicole AleksievaQOC51:43
7Peter CampbellQOC60:12
8Dawn Boutelle & Lorna Reid78:03
9Kathryn Siehndel81:08
10David CammackFUMADNF (57:06)
10David CammackFUMAMP (62:37)


Course Length: 2.7 km

Course Climb: 95 m

Number of Controls: 12

1Ikdoo KimFUMA32:39
2Geon Woo HanFUMA33:03
3Andrew EstesFUMA33:04
4Dameon HiteFUMA35:04
5Brennan StoneFUMA40:22
6Ryan DynskiFUMA42:58
7Brook AshleyQOC45:59
8Court ZabelQOC49:51
9Heidi OnkstQOC52:03
10Rebecca RichQOC57:06
11David FrankQOC59:55
12 Troop 1983 & Aveesh & Arnav & Preeti & Ruby64:05
13 Troop 1983 & Ishan & Arjuna & Subash66:45
14Pavol PopovicQOC67:16
15 Perkins GRP 570:10
16V HutchinsonQOC71:22
17 Troop 1983 & Don & Luke & KyleUSNA86:33
18 Troop 1983 & Arsh & SJ & Anil91:04
19Nataly Vladyka133:37
20Marcus BillingsleaFUMADNF (59:23)


Course Length: 4.1 km

Course Climb: 150 m

Number of Controls: 12

1Sean BrennanUSMAOC43:55
2Samuel JonesUSMAOC44:19
3Justin AugustineUSMAOC50:30
4David AshleyQOC54:25
5Todd SerresQOC54:38
6Luke EcksteinUSMAOC56:30
7Ikdoo KimFUMA68:12
8Eric GarmoeUSNA68:31
8Andrew EstesFUMA68:31
9Dwight ReedQOC69:32
10John SharrockQOC72:20
11Andrew ArenzUSMAOC78:29
12Sarah Sorenson88:11
13Jon Yorkie Butts91:05
14Frank Jackson91:13
15Ana CampbellQOC92:45
16Diana AleksievaQOC93:06
17Carson Roque-JacksonUSNA98:38
18Matthew DodsUSNA98:40
19Ken FerrisQOC101:33
20Erin ThammUSNA103:57
21Michael Jones106:57
22Jack TimberlakeUSNA108:13
23Rob Whitestone & CooperQOC118:51
24Buster DodgeUSNA119:42
25Blake ChiovaroQOC119:45
26Rick ChiovaroQOC133:38
27 Morningstar Family of 3167:00
28Eva SandriUSNA189:46
29Indigo JacksonUSNA190:16
30Mike SpillerDNF (83:25)
30Brennan StoneFUMADNF (92:50)
30Ryan DynskiFUMADNF (92:55)
30Anne-Marie LestQOCDNF (146:52)
30Caleb KilpatrickUSMAOCMP (63:23)
30David MuenchFUMAMP (71:09)


Course Length: 3.4 km

Course Climb: 120 m

Number of Controls: 9

1Eva MatveevaQOC91:36
2Abigel Sexton & CatherineQOCDNF (102:01)


Course Length: 4.5 km

Course Climb: 175 m

Number of Controls: 10

1Diana ToddQOC58:20
2Christine Dogherty63:17
3Daniel PikeQOC70:53
4Edward EnsonQOC89:19
5Bob FawcetttQOC96:12
6Stephen DolanQOC96:49
7Warren Preston & S&W104:24
8Richard BriggsQOC113:23
9Shannon CostelloQOC120:33
10Bryan Brittain & RebeccaQOC120:46
11Kelly SingerQOC120:49
12Petya AleksievaQOC127:57
13Michelle JenningsQOC131:24
14James Ellis133:16
15Joanna TaoQOC137:19
16Mary SnieckusQOC139:14
17Michelle FishQOC143:39
18Miguel Perez & Kara Callahan145:35
19Amy LoudenQOCDNF (51:30)
19Sara LemanskiQOCDNF (86:49)
19Jessica MuenchFUMADNF (94:10)
19Chris AmmonQOCDNF (112:02)
19Tom SmerlingQOCMP (118:18)


Course Length: 5.6 km

Course Climb: 210 m

Number of Controls: 13

1Adam SmithQOC49:30
2Hannah CulbergQOC51:26
3Nicholas Grenier54:10
4Nadim AhmedQOC54:52
5Victoria CampbellQOC56:13
6Rick Oliver57:02
7William WhitakerUSMAOC57:20
8Jack GasperUSNA57:21
9Jacob WaltersUSMAOC58:39
10Jared GiszackFUMA59:53
11Jan MerkaQOC61:12
12Nick McNiffeUSMAOC62:23
13Ben ChiovaroFUMA64:02
14David WeinmannUSMAOC64:27
14Mark ReadUSMAOC64:27
15Peggy DickisonOK67:27
16Greg LennonQOC70:41
17Dennis DohertyQOC71:47
18Kathleen LennonQOC72:59
19Brian FisherQOC73:16
20Gene MaslinkUSMAOC76:14
21Grant ThorntonUSNA78:23
22Tom WellsQOC79:06
23Steve CampQOC79:40
24Tom StratQOC80:05
25Roman EnsonQOC81:38
26Rob BriberQOC84:17
27Jordan HarrisUSNA85:49
28Robert RichQOC86:38
29Frantisek BrabecQOC87:09
30Gavin WeiseQOC89:28
31Lydia AndrewsQOC90:45
32Rory WelchQOC95:00
33Gary SmithQOC97:07
34Noah WachlinUSNA98:13
35Virginia DeBonsQOC99:44
36Anne JepsenQOC100:07
37Cash CostelloQOC100:13
38Jessica JohnsonUSMAOC102:28
39Michelle SvobodaQOC103:53
40Aaron Linville Laura HolianQOC107:47
41Jan ZichaQOC107:52
42Bryan SingerQOC118:43
43Don FishQOC120:33
44John StudachQOC132:48
45Rae Ann HicksQOC147:28
46Katelyn CovingtonUSNA154:13
47Patrick FarleyQOC166:29
48Jennifer WernerQOCMP (120:45)


Course Length: 7.1 km

Course Climb: 210 m

Number of Controls: 19

1Nicholas IvesUSMAOC63:08
2Jett DiPalmaUSMAOC67:37
3Amber TomasQOC67:52
4George GrindleyUSMAOC68:46
5Michael BruceUSMAOC72:03
6Samuel EvansUSMAOC73:43
7Patrick RichardsonUSMAOC74:11
8Josh AllynUSMAOC75:27
9Jared SilkQOC81:53
10Morgan RabalaisUSMAOC84:25
11Madison HagerUSMAOC84:46
12Dan O'Conor85:08
13John BakerQOC86:56
14Jacob TeepenUSNA90:47
15Glen GibsonQOC98:42
16Charles CarrickQOC105:27
17Matthew KnightQOC119:26
18Mark HicksQOC123:52
19Ben BloschockQOC147:10
20Hiroki YamashitaUSNA151:34
21Dan Tam DoQOC184:43
22Michael WoodQOCMP (88:20)
22Kim JepsenQOCMP (95:34)
22Tom NolanQOCMP (103:17)
22Rachel WolfeUSMAOCMP (127:19)
22Bill ViennaQOCMP (149:56)
22Michael IbrahimMP (228:35)


Course Length: 9.1 km

Course Climb: 230 m

Number of Controls: 23

1Jon TorranceQOC64:39
2Chris GrossDVOA85:31
3Videlin AleksievQOC88:08
4Dave PrudenQOC97:27
5Thomas CochraneQOC97:32
6Jon CampbellQOC105:09
7Britt MasonQOC105:16
8Yuriy BulkaQOC108:18
9David OnkstQOC108:20
10William ChesarekQOC127:34
11Benjamin RobertsQOC163:40
12David LevineQOC179:47

Abbreviations: DNF = did not finish, MP = mispunch, NC = non-competitive (usually 2nd course or course setter/vetter), OT = overtime (more than 3 hours or returned after course closing time).