Fountainhead Central

Course results can be seen below. Splits are available on Attackpoint or Winsplits.
To enter your routes and see how others went, head to RouteGadget.

Flickr photo album for event is here.


We had near perfect spring weather for the Fountainhead Central event on Sunday. The heavy rain the day before delayed the arrival of weekend mountain bikers, allowing for easy parking for all.
Amy Louden, as ever, setup and ran the Epunch stand, ably assisted by both Aaron Linville and Justin Green. Valerie Meyer had prepared all the maps which were delivered to the event by Harry Jones, who remained at the check-in stand for the morning pretty much helping with everything going on there - beginner instruction, organisation, supervising the two teenage name checkers and map issuers, Aarush and Agastya Nutalapati, and general all-around help and advice.
Parker Nevenglosky came along to help with instruction on the afternoon shift.
Justin Green put together a pretty stiff test of a course, judging by the number of participants challenged not only by the vertical topography of the park, but also by the cunning placement of many of the CP's - witnessed by myself who missed three of the five CP's at the first attempt, during control pickup! My dog had picked up on the vibe - even he refused to come and run with me! That is a first.
A huge thank-you to the superb control pick-up gang who all came back pretty exhausted after their course run, but happily agreed to return to the fray once more, knowing what awaited them - Michal Jarnik, John Organek, Art Cantrell, Charles Carrick and Jenn Fauth. Thank you so much for that really hard work.
Thanks again at the end of the event to Aaron Linville & Amy Louden for final control collection and tabulation.
Unending behind the scenes work from Charles Carrick and Greg Lennon, essential and much appreciated as always, and without whom about 160 orienteers would not have been able to run at all.
Thanks one and all.
-Matthew Knight, Event Director


Course Length: 2.3 km

Course Climb: 105 m

Number of Controls: 7

1David CoxQOC55:15
2Paul Guo60:13
3Lucy BrownQOC70:35
4Sam Forshay & Michael75:59
5Todd Hildebrant84:33
6Carly Leannah102:36
7Sachin Sharma & BSA Troop 447117:49
8Jean Tavassoli & Suzie126:15
9Wanda Spinner & Greg & Gregory155:56
10Harry JonesQOCDNF (42:27)
10Erica DeMille & Muslima & Aiko & Girl ScoutsDNF (126:22)


Course Length: 2.5 km

Course Climb: 160 m

Number of Controls: 8

1Mark ShounQOC46:55
2Iliana Lundblad & EmiQOC64:37
3Jamie TymannQOC68:51
4Rob Field & MariQOC77:50
5Deepak Madala & Lorraine & Elina & Kavya85:29
6Amy LoudenQOC85:48
7Reilly Biggins & Colby & Will & Troop 88487:04
8Bedrich SkopQOC88:30
9Vojtech SkopQOC88:53
10Jon NadQOC95:52
11Kevin Tirado & Steven96:50
12Warren Wylupski & KateQOC96:53
13Shivika Malik & Samira & Manish100:19
14Andrew Frank & Elizabeth & Caleb & Cody102:21
15Elizabeth Scherr106:17
16Dan DeMille & Meadow & Ghadeer & Girl Scout106:19
17Geoff Wilson & StephanieQOC112:11
18Virginia Whitestone & Christina113:44
19Loni Silva & Elowyn114:46
20Cecilia LandersQOC117:42
21Joshua CiceraroQOC145:03
22James ChaplinQOC147:11
23Morganna Elasky & KayQOC147:35
24Emily PhamQOC233:43
25Philip McBride & Dean & NoahDNF (68:49)
25Agastya Nutalapati & aarushDNF (149:25)


Course Length: 3.9 km

Course Climb: 190 m

Number of Controls: 10

1Elizabeth Hadley & Meghan & ClareQOC79:36
2Megan IntronaQOC87:26
3Luke Elasky & ElliQOC96:34
4Reiko RagerQOC105:04
5Parker NevengloskyQOC106:53
6Alicia WootenQOC116:51
7Debbie PedersonQOC118:35
8Alexander HoughtonQOC121:35
9Dale MoreyQOC131:29
10Serhot Ozturk & Dominic & Liam163:17
11Ed JosephQOC168:34
11Ed Joseph & AnnaQOC168:34
12Jason Hataye & Keira & MeilynnQOC183:40
13Howell DesiertoQOC192:32
14Kathy Duke & ShawnQOC204:55
15Liam SmithQOCDNF
15Kevin Tirado & StevenDNF
15Kristin Carpenter TLA 1 & Saahil & Noah & LoganDNF
15David Burr & JonathanDNF
15Daniel ZuletaQOCDNF
15Sydney DixonQOCDNF (63:59)
15Chloe CumingsQOCDNF (99:08)
15Becky Peak-Marquez & NikoQOCDNF (113:36)
15Janna Giaimuccio & Elise & MattDNF (155:50)
15J RedingtonQOCDNF (177:15)
15Victoria HincapieQOCDNF (199:52)
15Zachary HoughtonQOCMP (123:12)


Course Length: 4.1 km

Course Climb: 200 m

Number of Controls: 10

1Justin BrownQOC52:14
2Matthew CoxQOC53:52
3Miroslav HonzakQOC56:44
4Dominik HonzakQOC57:53
5David DohertyQOC63:53
6Daniel LathropQOC75:58
7Joseph PastelQOC78:25
8James FotouhiQOC79:26
9Shanna SorrellsQOC86:00
10Mark MaceQOC87:51
11Stephen DohertyQOC89:02
12Lexie BrownQOC90:32
13Shawn WilliamsQOC92:04
14Keith DoaneQOC95:44
15Taylor DevlinQOC98:23
16Mark LundbladQOC99:24
17Kristina Lundblad & EmiQOC99:46
18Gary QuamQOC101:55
19Ginny QuamQOC108:38
20Martin HoughtonQOC109:35
21Trisha Foster & Ian & Kiley & Amalka121:57
22David CynamonQOC125:12
23Tom GrissomQOC126:47
24Jeff GribschawQOC142:01
25Dawn SavageQOC145:02
26Suzanne SheldenQOC148:03
27Craig SheldenQOC149:15
28Pam DvorskyQOC155:59
29Jay Dell & MarkQOC157:34
30Heather WalshQOC169:47
31Tavia SullensQOC175:14
32Mike DvorskyQOC202:43
33Helen DohertyQOCDNF
33Sidney SachsQOCDNF
33Kim FieldDNF (88:23)
33Wendy WroblewskiQOCDNF (104:04)
33Art CantrellQOCDNF (107:16)
33Richard Briggs & JulianQOCDNF (129:21)
33Andrew Sfekas & TaliaQOCDNF (166:33)
33Jon NadQOCDNF (541:15)


Course Length: 5.4 km

Course Climb: 290 m

Number of Controls: 11

1Francielo Dalla CostaQOC57:19
2Adam SmithQOC61:17
3Dennis DohertyQOC72:19
4Alex MerkaQOC73:29
5Greg PalardyQOC79:25
6Katerina ZambranaQOC81:39
7George HornbergerQOC82:04
8Greg LennonQOC82:39
9Rob Whitestone87:38
10Tom WellsQOC89:55
11Jonathan BaroneQOC94:39
12Thomas O'DonnellQOC94:54
13Christopher SilvaQOC95:01
14Anne JepsenQOC95:05
15Connor QuinnLoudoun NJROTC96:19
16Peter Schwartz & BrendanQOC109:14
17Jana SeidlovaQOC112:11
18Jody LandersQOC112:57
19Scott SharpQOC114:16
20Heidi OnkstQOC117:14
21Robert BriberQOC121:18
22Jennifer FauthQOC122:55
23Frantisek BrabecQOC122:56
24David McIntireQOC129:24
25Gary SmithQOC140:07
26Paul HessionQOC142:26
27William SchorkQOC143:21
28Jane LeggettQOC147:23
29Keg GoodQOC148:04
30Paul CollinsonQOC163:22
31Kevin LearyQOC187:40
32Sharmagh YepremianQOCDNF (173:18)
32Beatri BennettQOCDNF (173:20)


Course Length: 7.1 km

Course Climb: 435 m

Number of Controls: 16

1Victor LinQOC90:45
2Videlin AleksievQOC97:25
3Jared SilkQOC99:47
4Aaron LinvilleQOC104:34
5Yuriy BulkaDVOA106:19
6Max AhmedQOC108:48
7Chris AmmonQOC109:56
8Mathieu PatteQOC113:12
9Peggy DickisonOK118:05
10Kim JepsenQOC126:38
11Patrick FarleyQOC132:14
12John OrganekQOC136:32
13David OnkstQOC147:10
14Charles CarrickQOC150:40
15Michal JarnikQOC153:28
16Turkmen OzerolQOC230:04
17John CumingsQOCDNF
17Franklin FishQOCDNF (168:04)
17Jennifer WernerQOCDNF (187:23)


Course Length: 8.7 km

Course Climb: 465 m

Number of Controls: 16

1Joseph BarrettQOC70:29
2Ken WalkerCSU98:10
3Ted GoodQOC99:07
4Michael DickeyQOC112:37
5Martins JonassQOC118:20
6Nadim AhmedQOC137:21
7Matt SmithQOC147:25
8Michael SalsgiverQOC246:31
9Luke KovacsQOC254:54

Abbreviations: DNF = did not finish, MP = mispunch, NC = non-competitive (usually 2nd course or course setter/vetter), OT = overtime (more than 3 hours or returned after course closing time).