Hemlock Overlook

Course results can be seen below. Splits are available on Attackpoint or Winsplits.
To enter your routes and see how others went, head to RouteGadget.

It was a beautiful warm and windy day at Hemlock Park, perfect for orienteering where we had almost 200 participants! Actually, too warm for many - we’re not used to temps in the 70s. Many an exhausted participant who downloaded their results struggled with the heat and hills of Hemlock. We did lose a tarp to the wind, but on the bright side no runners were lost (at least not lost at the end of the event).
Thanks to everyone who volunteered and made things go smoothly. Check-in and map distro duties were managed by the Doherty family, Helen Doherty, Christine Doherty, David Doherty, Dennis Doherty and Steve Doherty.
Control pick-up was performed by David Ashley (he arrived just to collect controls and get a workout in and then bike home!), Paul Hession, David Doherty, Helen Doherty, Dennis Doherty and Christine Doherty. Epunch and map printing duties were once again expertly managed by Amy Louden and Valerie Meyer. Lastly, thanks to Mark Thompson and Paul Morris for designing and setting the entire course, well done.
-Dennis and Helen Doherty, Event Directors


Course Length: 2.1 km

Course Climb: 20 m

Number of Controls: 13

1Harry JonesQOC35:01
2Mark Shoun & Gavin & Logan51:08
3Andrew Frank & Elizabeth56:52
4Ana MaureraQOC60:29
5Chris Mullen & Isiaiah & Tati & LondonMP (54:35)
5Tasneem Abdul-RashidMP (61:48)


Course Length: 3.4 km

Course Climb: 70 m

Number of Controls: 10

1Liam Smith & AdamQOC34:36
2Alicia WootenQOC39:41
3Boryana PeevaQOC41:54
4Kashka AshfordQOC42:43
5Seneca HonzakQOC44:33
6Dedan BrunerQOC48:46
7Liberty LandavereLoudoun NJROTC49:37
8Lexie Brown & GeoffQOC53:02
9Nicole AleksievaQOC54:50
10Sydney DixonQOC55:53
11Iiana LundbladQOC57:35
12Maggie DoughertyQOC57:49
13Claire WinchesterQOC64:33
14Warren Wylupski & KateQOC66:55
15Dakota Honzak & MiroslavQOC72:06
16Javaz HuntingtonQOC73:44
17Sharmagh YepremianQOC76:43
18Ninely MurphyQOC77:25
19Amy LoudenQOC80:46
20Ellen Marcus & Andrew & Talia81:57
21Jon Bertheussen & Chris & Naomi & AntonioQOC82:17
22John Baker & Lorraine & Alina & JayQOC83:49
23Greg Carter & Kyla & Madeleine102:05
24Chloe Cumings & FriendQOC112:08
25Tara Boggaram & Lisha & Chae & Molly120:54
26Jack Hoskins & Steve & Riley126:11
27Laurel Neff & Aeryn & JaycenQOC136:57


Course Length: 5.3 km

Course Climb: 195 m

Number of Controls: 12

1Daniel MinarQOC85:42
2Matyas MinarQOC86:35
3Michael Du PlessisLoudoun NJROTC89:44
4Art CantrellQOC93:06
5Craig McIntireQOC109:48
6Katerina Zambrana & Dominik & VincentQOC110:02
7Stevenson GionQOC111:03
8Jonathan Barone & TimQOC115:36
9Jonathan NewmarkQOC119:06
10Skylar Lima125:08
11Erica Ellis & Bob RushQOC125:47
12Addison LarrowQOC125:55
13Ayden BeckerQOC128:23
14Justin RagerQOC128:43
15Chip BeckerQOC132:46
16Reiko RagerQOC133:01
17Zachary HoughtonQOC134:35
18Flora Le & WillQOC135:26
19Allen Wagner & KellyQOC138:49
20Jana Robinson & DavidQOC142:09
21Nathan HartmanLoudoun NJROTC150:30
22Beth BeaversQOC155:24
23Steve AndrewsQOC158:41
24Marisol Mata & Jennifer168:53
25Kim Lopez & Alfredo & BlancaQOC197:01
26Farooq Syed & Zahra & IbraheemDNF
26Petya AleksievaQOCDNF (101:37)
26Vladimir Jirinec & GabiQOCMP (139:08)


Course Length: 4.2 km

Course Climb: 165 m

Number of Controls: 10

1Adam SmithQOC38:38
2Dennis DohertyQOC46:35
3George HornbergerQOC47:09
4David DohertyQOC49:11
5Justin BrownQOC53:58
6Christine DohertyQOC57:36
7Robert BriberQOC58:20
8Greg LennonQOC62:45
9Peggy DickisonOK63:15
10Kathleen LennonQOC65:04
11David McIntireQOC65:59
12Samantha WalkerQOC68:15
13William WrightQOC72:17
14Gary QuamQOC73:41
15Dan BuckleyQOC73:45
16Jeffrey BloomQOC74:21
17Robert FawcettQOC75:46
18Paul HessionQOC76:03
19Kevin LearyQOC85:26
20Rob Ponder86:43
21Francis HogleQOC89:27
22Ginny QuamQOC89:49
23Angela HuesmanQOC92:39
24John LandersQOC93:28
25Turkmen OzerolQOC94:18
26Valerie MeyerQOC99:19
27Franklin FishQOC99:24
28Martin HoughtonQOC107:01
29Jay DellQOC107:26
30Dustyn ValliesQOC110:04
31Richard BriggsQOC112:40
32Mike DvorskyQOC113:01
33Pam DvorskyQOC114:00
34Tavia SullensQOC120:09
35Florence TanQOC120:41
36Beth Ann StasiowskiQOC120:49
37Cecilia LandersQOC125:12
38Ethan Sonnichsen131:18
39Kristina Lundblad & MarkQOC140:47
40Alexander HoughtonQOC174:48
41Stephen DohertyQOCDNF
41Helen DohertyQOCDNF
41Sidney SachsQOCDNF
41Hugo Estrada & AlexanderQOCDNF
41Boyan Onyshkevych & RomanQOCDNF (138:28)
41Darren BoczarQOCMP (184:52)


Course Length: 6.1 km

Course Climb: 215 m

Number of Controls: 11

1Gabe Du PlessisLoudoun NJROTC61:08
2Rob FieldQOC69:02
3Mariama DryakQOC70:13
4Tom WellsQOC76:01
5Luke BeaupreLoudoun NJROTC78:24
6Christopher SilvaQOC78:39
7M.J. UribeQOC80:11
8Jana SeidlovaQOC80:46
9Nadim AhmedQOC82:14
10Kamil KlimaQOC86:21
11Greg PalardyQOC90:06
12John OrganekQOC93:30
13William ViennaQOC96:27
14Mary SnieckusQOC96:33
15Jody LandersQOC99:22
16Octavian AshfordLoudoun NJROTC102:46
17Nick GrenierQOC104:21
18Jesus RodriguezQOC104:52
19David RagerQOC105:12
20Heather Phelps & TomQOC109:31
21Paul CollinsonQOC111:20
22Sam ListwakQOC115:07
23Lydia AndrewsQOC118:12
24Justin GreenQOC118:35
25Frantisek BrabecQOC125:57
26Jaden GillespieLoudoun NJROTC134:20
27Dagmar MerkovaQOC146:07
28Craig SheldenQOC186:14
29Suzanne SheldenQOC192:14
30Jan MerkaQOCDNF (50:40)
30Max AhmedQOCDNF (100:18)
30Lucie KosatovaQOCMP (110:30)


Course Length: 6.9 km

Course Climb: 320 m

Number of Controls: 11

1Marie PangracovaQOC66:35
2Victor LinQOC76:43
3Matthew KnightQOC77:36
4Martins JonassQOC80:33
5Videlin AleksievQOC81:03
6Tom NolanQOC84:08
7Adelaide NolanQOC84:42
8Diana AleksievaQOC87:00
9John MillerQOC89:14
10Kim JepsenQOC98:23
11Alexander Ruege98:58
12Patrick FarleyQOC99:15
13John CumingsQOC100:06
14Will ChesarekQOC100:26
15Matt SmithQOC100:32
16Chris AmmonQOC101:50
17Jared SilkQOC107:14
18Alex MerkaQOC109:36
19Charles CarrickQOC113:38
20Sam CoynerQOC132:36
21Sarah Sorenson & MatthewQOC157:33
22Bobbie VerdegaalQOC158:02


Course Length: 8.5 km

Course Climb: 375 m

Number of Controls: 14

1Glenn PastelQOC65:16
2Ken WalkerCSU80:54
3Ted GoodQOC83:28
4Jon TorranceQOC91:18
5Spencer JohnsonQOC100:47
6Michael StasiowskiQOC107:45
7Michael DickeyQOC111:36
8Benjamin RobertsQOC117:36
9David OnkstQOC131:29
10Misty NielsenQOC156:09
11Joseph BarrettQOCDNF (62:28)
11Patrick FieldQOCDNF (69:36)
11Inigo AhedoQOCDNF (95:41)
11Petr MinarQOCMP (143:18)

Abbreviations: DNF = did not finish, MP = mispunch, NC = non-competitive (usually 2nd course or course setter/vetter), OT = overtime (more than 3 hours or returned after course closing time).