Mason Neck

Course results can be seen below. Splits are available on Attackpoint or Winsplits.
To enter your routes and see how others went, head to RouteGadget.

Flickr photo album for event is here.

Mason Neck 2022

On Sunday, Dec. 18th we held QOC’s last event of 2022 at Mason Neck State Park. We had some sun, some clouds, temps rising to the low 40s and a bit of wind. Not a bad day for orienteering!
Thank you to Mark Thomsen who designed a full set of courses for this flat coastal plain terrain. Many, many thanks to all the volunteers who made this event a success - Mary Snieckus, Paul Collinson and John Baker at check-in and map distribution; Don Fish and John Baker at beginner instruction; Justin and Lexie Brown, Charles Carrick, Martins Jonass and Sharmagh Yepremian, Aaron and Laura Linville, John Organek and Jared Silk who all went back out in the woods to pick up the controls. And finally, an extra thank you to Charles Carrick for end to end support and for taking care of all the details that make the event run without a hitch. And always, thank you to Amy Louden and Valerie Meyer for their tireless dedication and expertise to print maps and run the epunch system.
-Gary and Ginny Quam - Event Directors


Course Length: 2 km

Course Climb: 25 m

Number of Controls: 10

1Martin Meravy & ElijahQOC25:51
2Paula Hayes & KennethQOC35:45
3Darren Boczar & Emma & Tyler & MeganQOC61:08
4Dina Hart & Jonathan & Gregory & MarilynQOC62:12
5Andrew Boczar & Sophia & Caitlyn & DavidQOC65:02
6Dakota Honzak & JudyQOC100:22


Course Length: 3.7 km

Course Climb: 30 m

Number of Controls: 12

1Mateus Dalla CostaQOC45:08
2Kashka AshfordQOC56:12
3Nicole AleksievaQOC66:27
4Teresea StinerQOC66:33
5Martin Meravy & ElijahQOC69:25
6Vitor Dalla CostaQOC78:58
7Cara HonzakQOC83:07
8Geoff Wilson & StephanieQOC89:53
9Seneca HonzakQOC91:24
10Caroline Dalla CostaQOC97:21
11Bill ClareyQOC98:57
12Jonathan Hotz Troop 1970 & Lukas & Amanda & ErichQOC107:15
13Guy deLadurantayeQOC110:57
14Boyan OnyshkevychQOC115:31
15Allen Wagner & Aldrin & Xander & EletQOC116:29
16Stephen Murga Jones & PatrickQOC117:07
17Eva Cumings & NoahQOC174:58
18Philip McBride & NoahQOCDNF
18Diana MoviusQOCDNF (75:19)
18Ana MaureraQOCDNF (85:29)
18Ninely Murphy & JamesQOCDNF (128:17)


Course Length: 5.9 km

Course Climb: 75 m

Number of Controls: 13

1Jillian DohertyQOC72:25
2Logan deLadurantayeLoudoun NJROTC81:21
3Dale MoreyQOC89:27
4Luke KovacsQOC93:48
5Lexie BrownQOC96:30
6Jane LeggettQOC99:05
7Christopher Wong & Sarah & RowanQOC103:56
8Christine DohertyQOC105:28
9Liberty LandavereLoudoun NJROTC109:12
10Craig McIntireQOC109:18
11Morgan DavisQOC109:21
12Pedro Felipe Gardeazabal RodriguezQOC109:41
13Reiko RagerQOC111:47
14Josh Nichols & Christy & IanQOC118:19
15Shannon FordQOC143:11
16Brian Briggman & Odin & AthenaQOC143:27
17Sharmagh YepremianQOC145:20
18Laura Gaul & AlexeyQOC149:47
19Debbie Pederson & KateQOC153:02
20Craig SheldenQOC194:08
21Suzanne SheldenQOC202:11
22John Witt & JessQOC213:20
23Sydney DixonQOCDNF (112:50)
23Charles GregorskiQOCDNF (219:43)


Course Length: 4.4 km

Course Climb: 50 m

Number of Controls: 10

1Miroslav HonzakQOC43:44
2Justin BrownQOC50:38
3Todd GazelleQOC62:02
4Samantha WalkerQOC62:13
5Dominik HonzakQOC62:27
6Robert BriberQOC65:12
7William WrightQOC65:51
8Helen DohertyQOC68:05
9Stephen DohertyQOC70:24
10Robert FawcettQOC83:56
11Max AhmedQOC86:35
12Florence TanQOC88:46
13Keg GoodQOC90:06
14Martin HoughtonQOC90:19
15Daniel LathropQOC92:19
16Jenna LierniQOC99:09
17Alexander HoughtonQOC103:08
18Franklin FishQOC113:38
19Dan BuckleyQOC116:25
20Zachary HoughtonQOC124:32
21Beth Ann StasiowskiQOC135:51
22Blake Brobst & Xavier & ElliottLoudoun NJROTC135:56
23Al Murray & RobQOC135:57
24Tavia SullensQOC139:55
25Amy LoudenQOC147:27
26Jason HatayeQOCDNF
26Brandon CamachoQOCDNF (126:17)
26Benjamin LierniLoudoun NJROTCDNF (131:39)
26Mark MaceQOCDNF (131:55)
26Octavian AshfordLoudoun NJROTCDNF (140:44)
26James FotouhiQOCMP (112:52)
26Richard BriggsQOCMP (122:30)


Course Length: 6 km

Course Climb: 65 m

Number of Controls: 11

1Nadim AhmedQOC60:41
2Tom NolanQOC63:02
3Dennis DohertyQOC68:34
3Thomas O'DonnellQOC68:34
4Francielo Dalla CostaQOC69:23
5Greg LennonQOC70:35
6David DohertyQOC71:20
7Peggy DickisonOK72:05
8Christopher ZbrozekQOC76:35
9Tom StratQOC80:33
10Lydia AndrewsQOC85:06
11David RagerQOC90:45
12Heidi OnkstQOC91:44
13Paul CollinsonQOC95:34
14Robin Moon & Bryan & ChrisQOC97:11
15Steve CampQOC97:40
16Frantisek BrabecQOC99:24
17Jody LandersQOC102:24
18Francis HogleQOC104:24
19Gary SmithQOC106:14
20Neal AttfieldQOC108:34
21Christopher OwensQOC118:59
22William Schork120:01
23Alex TilsleyQOC124:11
24Mary SnieckusQOC133:41
25Elena MakarevichQOC145:39
26Kevin LearyQOC163:42
27Turkmen OzerolQOC167:34
28Jon AshleyQOC175:38
29John BakerQOCMP (83:37)
29Greg PalardyQOCMP (86:15)
29Jennifer WernerQOCMP (128:11)


Course Length: 7.7 km

Course Climb: 70 m

Number of Controls: 15

1Rob FieldQOC85:33
2Matt SmithQOC86:13
3Alex MerkaQOC87:18
4Matthew KnightQOC104:54
5Diana AleksievaQOC105:32
6Charles CarrickQOC108:15
7Patrick FarleyQOC109:08
8John CumingsQOC110:54
9John OrganekQOC112:00
10Jared SilkQOC126:52
11Greg ProutyQOC148:35
12Michael SalsgiverQOC162:54
13Fred ClareyLoudoun NJROTC175:34


Course Length: 9.2 km

Course Climb: 90 m

Number of Controls: 18

1Ken WalkerCSU73:34
2Jon TorranceQOC88:53
3Stephen KelleyQOC95:41
4Martins JonassQOC98:50
5Aaron LinvilleQOC99:41
6Michael StasiowskiQOC100:49
7Videlin AleksievQOC104:00
8Patrick FieldQOC112:58
9Luke BeaupreLoudoun NJROTC122:39
10Bela MorganQOC138:05
11Brock MorganQOC138:20
12Matthew WilsonQOC139:34
13David OnkstQOC139:53
14Joseph BarrettQOCDNF (47:59)
14David GedneyQOCDNF (150:50)
14Mary FosterQOCMP (137:14)

Abbreviations: DNF = did not finish, MP = mispunch, NC = non-competitive (usually 2nd course or course setter/vetter), OT = overtime (more than 3 hours or returned after course closing time).