Fountainhead East

Course results can be seen below. Splits are available on Attackpoint or Winsplits.
To enter your routes and see how others went, head to RouteGadget.
Next event: *Saturday*, Jan. 22 at Balls Bluff.

Happy New Year QOC members and other orienteers!
This week brought lot of snow and covered grounds of the Fountainhead Park, the place of QOC first VA event in 2022. Despite the rainy forecast, around 102 runners showed up and finished their courses .
Big thanks to Patrick for setting up the full range of courses – White, Yellow, Orange, Brown, Green, Red and Blue. Thank you is also going to Patrick’s helpers putting up controls – Aaron Linville, Tavia Sullens and Charles Carrick.
Here is a list of other volunteers to THANK YOU:
Valerie Meyer printed the maps and clue sheets, Aaron Linville and my son Daniel Minar also helped with setting up the e-punch area.
The e-punch team included Amy Louden and Valerie Meyer. Dasa Merka, Alex Merka and Daniel helped at the registration.
As it started raining and being cold, we had to pause control pickup. Thank you to all volunteers who promised to help - Matt Knight, Aaron Linville, John Miller, Paul Morris, John Organek, Matt Smith and Bobbie Vergdegaal. Patrick, Aaron, and John picked up some today and some of the volunteers will meet up later this week to finish the pickup.
The ARDF Radio Orienteering Courses was setup by Mike Kholodov but had to be canceled due to the wet conditions.
Also, not to forget – a big thank you goes to former park manager Lance Elzie and current park manager Kate Irwin without whose efforts this event would not have happened.
I hope everyone enjoyed the day, dried up and stayed warm.
-Jana Seidlova


Course Length: 1.4 km

Course Climb: 85 m

Number of Controls: 10

1Harry JonesQOCDNF (11:07)


Course Length: 1.3 km

Course Climb: 95 m

Number of Controls: 10

1Daniel MinarQOC27:02
2Sydney DixonQOC61:12
3Stephen Daniels & ManuelaQOC73:40
4Harriet Johnston74:26
5Amy LoudenQOC87:57
6Geoff WilsonQOC88:11
7Matt SkowronskiQOCDNF


Course Length: 4.3 km

Course Climb: 180 m

Number of Controls: 14

1Michelle FishQOC59:03
2Einar OlsenQOC84:29
3Alexander Ruege90:04
4Jillian DohertyQOC93:42
5Laurel NeffQOC104:08
6Scott Olesen & Georgia109:48
7Craig McIntireQOC121:21
8Reiko RagerQOC122:41
9Sherry OutenQOC146:01
10Andrew Cooper & Ben173:02
11John ForresterQOC295:27
12Becky PattersonQOCDNF
12Hana PangracovaDNF (121:12)
12Nate OConnorQOCMP
12David McIntire & ChristineQOCMP (159:12)


Course Length: 4.5 km

Course Climb: 175 m

Number of Controls: 10

1Neal AttfieldQOC77:50
2Jan MerkaQOC79:39
3George HornbergerQOC81:59
4Alex MerkaQOC83:29
5Joseph PastelQOC93:03
6David RagerQOC98:36
7Jennifer FauthQOC107:37
8Dan BuckleyQOC107:58
9Heather Phelps & TomQOC108:43
10Monika KornhauserQOC110:23
11Mary SnieckusQOC115:19
12Justin Brown & LexieQOC119:40
13Helen DohertyQOC120:59
14Gary QuamQOC132:57
14Casey MotonQOC132:57
15Jeffrey HaskellQOC138:50
16Ginny QuamQOC142:36
17Turkmen OzerolQOC149:56
18Franklin FishQOC160:46
19Beatri BennettQOC173:32
20Tavia SullensQOC174:50
21Beth Ann StasiowskiQOC197:57
22Michael KostiwQOCDNF
22Bobbie VerdegaalQOCDNF (110:04)
22Florence TanQOCMP (132:43)


Course Length: 5.9 km

Course Climb: 325 m

Number of Controls: 12

1Ted GoodQOC75:42
2Marie PangracovaQOC84:41
3Mark WalmsleyQOC85:56
4Martins JonassQOC86:01
5Anna PangracovaQOC90:06
6Thomas O'DonnellQOC121:50
7John OrganekQOC127:08
8Justin GreenQOC139:58
9Jody LandersQOC148:53
10Scott SharpQOC158:36
11Craig SheldenQOC189:13
12Doug SilkQOC195:39
13David LevineQOC201:37
14Jesus RodriguezQOCDNF
14Whit JohnstonDNF
14Inigo AhedoQOCDNF (139:27)


Course Length: 8 km

Course Climb: 420 m

Number of Controls: 16

1Ken WalkerCSU92:40
2Patrick FieldQOC102:46
3Jay GelmanQOC104:02
4Victor LinQOC122:05
5Videlin AleksievQOC127:43
6John CumingsQOC131:39
7Diana AleksievaQOC133:58
8Matthew KnightQOC135:01
9Tom NolanQOC143:53
10Matt SmithQOC144:05
11Adelaide NolanQOC146:43
12Paul MorrisQOC179:37
13Charles CarrickQOC182:17
14Alan Crouse & LCHS NJROTC182:21
15Bill JohnsQOC194:47
16Sarah Sorenson & MatthewQOCDNF
16John MillerQOCDNF (119:52)


Course Length: 9.7 km

Course Climb: 460 m

Number of Controls: 18

1Joseph BarrettQOC85:48
2Glenn PastelQOC102:57
3Jon TorranceQOC129:54
4Spencer JohnsonQOC133:16
5Jesse TubbQOC145:23
6Eric GoetzQOC145:28
7Travis SiehndelQOC145:43
8Howie WeinsteinQOC148:11
9Will ChesarekQOC149:21
10Stephen KelleyQOC150:59
11Aaron LinvilleQOC159:06
12Mike ChaneyQOC161:15
13Michael StasiowskiQOC176:06
14Brock MorganQOC181:44
15Bela MorganQOC181:46
16David Dalling & BRORQOC206:01
17Allen WagnerQOC206:20
18Brien MacKendrick206:24
19Misty NielsenQOC226:05
20Mary FosterQOC226:08
21David AyotteQOCDNF (189:01)


Course Length: 4.2 km

Course Climb: 120 m

Number of Controls: 10

Abbreviations: DNF = did not finish, MP = mispunch, NC = non-competitive (usually 2nd course or course setter/vetter), OT = overtime (more than 3 hours or returned after course closing time).