March 13th was as beautiful a day as you could ask for for an orienteering event, although the soil was saturated from accumulated winter precipitation and the recent heavy rain. Using Camp Wilson as our base, rather than the traditional location at the Pohick Bay main parking area, provided some variation especially for the shorter courses. Dispersed, unimproved-surface parking areas presented an additional challenge, though, in the event, it was not as formidable as the worst case we planned for.

Thanks to all the volunteers who helped out during the day: Julia Kalloz, Chuck Ferguson (who came out despite his impending 20+ hour drive to Georgia later in the day), George Crittenden, Don Davis, and James Chaplin on registration and map issuance; Mike Ford, Andy Britton, John Bertheussen, and Bjorn Skjaevestad on the parking team; and Chris Gagliano, Victor Lin (after his 50K trail run on Saturday and his red course here), Tim Good, and Greg Lennon on control pick-up; and, as always, the stalwart E-punch team, Heidi Onkst and Valerie Meyer. The Pohick Bay Park staff also deserves our appreciation for their responsive support to our meet.

Request from Course Setter Sid Sachs: When I planned the courses, I designed a single leg shared by Green (6 to 8), Red (9 to 11) and Blue (14 to 16). This way you can compare how you would be on a course that is a little longer or shorter. Please enter your routes in Route Gadget because I would like to see how everyone did on the 1325 meters leg from control 139 to control 116.

RouteGadget and WinSplits are now online for this event.

FOUND: A clear, plastic water bottle with aluminum top and base and brand name "Kaeser and Blair Incorporated." E-mail meet director to claim.


Course Length: 1.7 km

Course Climb: 60 m

Number of Controls: 8

1Jordan WilhelmLoudoun County HS15:16
1Timothy KaufmanLoudoun County HS15:16
2Aaron BarclayLoudoun County HS19:29
3Sasha NoghrehLoudoun County HS19:49
4Johanne SkjaevestadQOC29:27
5Jonathan TaylorLoudoun County HS34:35
6Andrew GillespieLoudoun County HS34:36
7Vemund BorgeQOC36:17
8Ken Harrison & Owen45:48
9Juliana Cox & John50:38
10Heather Maher57:09
11Aidan DolanQOC78:31
12Tom BruceQOC83:47
13 GS Troop 6420 & Rachel Jillian Ally & Caity Roseanne Jerry84:53
14Kathy TaylorDNF (52:11)
14Segurd BorgeQOCMP (75:24)

White Long

Course Length: 4.9 km

Course Climb: 115 m

Number of Controls: 13

1Valerie MeyerQOC63:06
2Alexander Burt115:34
3Charles Evans117:02
4Donald Nicholas & VirginiaQOC134:10


Course Length: 3 km

Course Climb: 90 m

Number of Controls: 12

1Max LennonQOC47:13
2Dennis Doherty & ChristineQOC52:49
3Clark Billups & Jamie Visbeck52:50
4Mason & Mark Baugh53:43
5Allison Esquen & Amelia GrieseVenture Crew 61063:07
6Chad Brown & Trent Brown65:23
7Kelly Tobin & Ian TobinVenture Crew 61065:54
8Jim ChaplinQOC67:21
9Jose Lugo73:56
10Zach Hicks & Jessie Basham73:58
11Matthes Brandt83:22
12Rae Ann Hicks & B. Castle B.Mejugin & M. Herold84:41
13Tyler Bunch & Robert Frizzelle92:18
14Christopher Burnett & Zara Abraham & DidiQOC106:43
15Joe Garcia & Cody Peterson128:24
16Jeff Chaplin138:12
17Kai Riley & Scott Ruybalid143:31
18Colin Stewart & Tracie Zenis159:13
19Nathan Carlston & Christian LugoDNF (129:30)
19Jonathan Taylor & (2nd course)Loudoun County HSMP (80:42)
19Aaron Barclay & (2nd course)Loudoun County HSNC (38:42)
19Timothy Kaufman & (2nd course)Loudoun County HSNC (46:50)
19Sasha Noghreh & (2nd course)Loudoun County HSNC (48:33)
19Jordan Wilhelm & (2nd course)Loudoun County HSNC (49:21)
19Andrew Gilliespie & (2nd course)Loudoun County HSNC (63:02)
19Mark Hicks & Gabriel Gamino & Z. Huber D. CondraNC (80:54)


Course Length: 4.5 km

Course Climb: 145 m

Number of Controls: 11

1Michael Kidd & Fred GrieseBS Troop 68865:41
2Dylan O'DonnellQOC66:38
3Henry GodfreyQOC69:20
4Jacqueline CurrieQOC73:34
5Chris GaglianoQOC75:38
6Scott MabryQOC77:31
7Steve Van Winkle85:26
8Esben JepsenQOC85:36
9Matthew Davis & Tom Scriven86:57
10Michelle HolmesQOC87:19
11Thomas Minarik87:57
12Addie NolanQOC92:36
13John & Michael GodfreyQOC97:35
14Yuki RileyQOC98:58
15Don ShockeyQOC102:31
16Andrew Griese & Gregory VavosoBS Troop 688102:54
17Matthew Dehn & Grant Hobar105:35
18Regan SkjaevestadQOC111:07
19Tyler Andress112:08
20Don AmesQOC116:05
21Thomas Osterhoudt & Karen Osterhoudt126:19
22Amy LoudenQOC131:58
23Laudeir GomesQOC138:42
24Peter Meyer & Nancy & Cambell142:53
25Lori Polonsky147:01
26Andrea Stoddard147:20
27Michael Fairbanks & Conner WynkoopBS Troop 688150:22
28Colin Smith & KellyQOC150:49
29Dennis WaltersQOC152:52
30Cindy Jackson152:58
30Susan Gregory152:58
31Dwight Hood188:11
32Alex Jones & David FrizzelleBS Troop 688192:42
33Roger Mellado & Asher Kocen195:22
34Stephen Dorland & Robert HammelDNF (161:30)


Course Length: 4.2 km

Course Climb: 120 m

Number of Controls: 8

1Julia KallozQOC81:04
2Fred HartlineDVOA83:18
3George CrittendenQOC106:22
4Mike FordQOC120:07
5Don FishQOC129:35
6Linda CorneliusQOC130:47
7Karla HulettQOC135:36
8Edward EnsonQOC148:15
9Horace Bashor & Ted Salas159:42
10Anne JepsenQOCDNF (80:00)
10Pam & Mike DvorskyPHS JROTCDNF (125:55)
10Marit DavisQOCMP (115:47)


Course Length: 5.1 km

Course Climb: 135 m

Number of Controls: 10

1Nadim AhmedQOC49:36
2Bjorn SkjaevestadQOC49:55
3Greg LennonQOC56:30
4Lars-Erik BorgeQOC58:36
5Jan MerkaQOC59:14
6George MinarikBAOC61:00
7Jon BertheussenQOC63:01
8Tom WellsQOC64:36
9Don DavisQOC65:18
10Kathleen LennonQOC69:51
11Dagmar MerkovaQOC72:45
12Mike BerryQOC75:16
13Elliott HamiltonQOC75:57
14Tim GoodQOC79:36
15Heidi OnkstQOC79:56
16Ryan HannaQOC79:58
17Brian DolanQOC81:41
18Linus HamiltonQOC82:38
19Frantisek BrabecQOC82:39
20Bev HartlineDVOA89:03
21William Corr94:37
22Patricia MaceQOC97:24
23Tom O'Donnell100:22
24Patrick Farley110:42
25Michelle SvobodaQOC134:47
26Dan DoQOC146:10
27Kevin Houghton155:03


Course Length: 6 km

Course Climb: 190 m

Number of Controls: 12

1Andres Sundstrom54:36
2Victor LinQOC57:09
3Tom StratQOC59:10
4Dave HauverQOC68:56
5Ioana FlemingQOC68:57
6Mihai SirbuQOC70:36
7Tony GarmanQOC73:05
8Tom NolanQOC74:26
9Jamie WebsterQOC75:05
10Barton Holcomb76:09
11Peggy DickisonOK78:28
12Kevin DvorskyPHS JROTC79:08
13Kim JepsenQOC79:35
14Brian FlemingQOC80:22
15Gary SmithQOC90:18
16Russ DamtoftQOC92:45
17Keith DvorskyPHS JROTC97:39
18Keg Good102:31
19Alex BishopQOC105:37
20David LevineQOC110:31
21Michelle Faucher111:35
22Naomi & Bernard Ducharme119:28
23Mark StonemanQOC168:09
24Mark MaceQOCMP (108:48)


Course Length: 8.5 km

Course Climb: 280 m

Number of Controls: 17

1Jon TorranceQOC60:40
2Ken Walker JrCSU65:01
3Brian MayerQOC73:40
4Andy BrittonQOC80:25
5Ted GoodQOC81:41
6Andy StratQOC87:40
7David OnkstQOC91:58
8Byron JohnsonQOC104:04
9Erik GrunerQOC105:45
10Jon PiferQOC106:17
11Shane HagermanQOC110:46
12Neal AttfieldQOC118:28

Abbreviations: DNF = did not finish, MP = mispunch, NC = non-competitive (usually 2nd course or course setter/vetter), OT = overtime (more than 3 hours or returned after course closing time).